Professor Rod Tucker

Rod Tucker


Prof. Rod Tucker

Rod Tucker is a Melbourne Laureate Emeritus Professor at the University of Melbourne. He was formerly, Director of the Institute for a Broadband-Enabled Society (IBES) and the Centre for Energy-Efficient Telecommunications (CEET). He has held positions at the University of Queensland, the University of California, Berkeley, Cornell University, Plessey Research, AT&T Bell Laboratories, Hewlett Packard Laboratories, and Agilent Technologies. He joined the University of Melbourne in 1990.

Professor Tucker is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, and a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). He served on the Management Committee of the Australian Telecommunications and Electronics Research Board from 1991 to 1993, and has been a member of the Australasian Council on Quantum Electronics. From 1995 to 1999, he served as a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques from 1988 to 1990, Guest Editor of the IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics Special Issue on Semiconductor Lasers, June 1995, Guest Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, Special Issue on Microwave and Millimetre-Wave Photonics, September 1995, and Associate Editor of IEEE Photonics Technology Letters from 1997 – 2006. He is currently Vice-President Publications of the IEEE Photonics Society.

Professor Tucker received the BE (Elec) degree from the University of Melbourne in 1969, and the PhD degree, also from the University of Melbourne, in 1975. In 1970 he was awarded the Fisk Prize by the Institution of Radio and Electronics Engineers, Australia, and in 1975 he was awarded a Harkness Fellowship by the Commonwealth Fund, New York. He received the Institution of Engineers, Australia, M.A. Sargent Medal for 1995 for his contributions to Electrical Engineering and was named IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society Distinguished Lecturer for the year 1995-96. In 1997 he was awarded the Australia Prize, Australia’s premier international award for science and technology, for his contributions to telecommunications and in 2007 he received the IEEE LEOS Aron Kressel Award. He has been named one of ISI’s Highly-Cited Researchers.