Chris Manzie

Professor and Head, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering,
Melbourne School of Engineering

The University of Melbourne
Victoria, 3010 Australia
Ph: +61 3 8344 6731


Executive Assistant: Lyn Buchanan
Ph: +61 3 8344 6699




Brief bio

I received the B.S. degree in physics and the B.E. degree (with honors) in electrical and electronic engineering and the Ph.D. degree from the University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia, in 1996 and 2001, respectively.

I have been the Head of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engieering since February 2017. From 2003 until 2017, I was affiliated with the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Melbourne.

I was a Visiting Scholar with the University of California, San Diego in 2007, and a Visiteur Scientifique at IFP Energies Nouvelles, Paris in 2012. From 2010-14, I was an Australian Research Council Future Fellow.

I hold Associate Editor roles for Elsevier Control Engineeering Practice, IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology, IEEE Transactions on Mechatronics and Elsevier Mechatronics. I am a Senior Member of the IEEE as well as a Member of the IEEE and IFAC Technical Committees on Automotive Control.


Honours and Awards

2014: Chris Manzie becomes the Australian nominee and finalist for the APEC Science Prize in Intelligent Transportation.

2013: Alireza Mohammadi, received the Best Student Paper award at the 2013 Australian Control Conference for Emulation Design for a Class of Extremum Seeking Controllers: Case Studies in ABS and Spark Timing Calibration (Mohammadi, Manzie, Nesic)
2013: Winner of Best Application Paper Prize at the 9thAsian Control Conference, for State of Charge Management for PHEVs with Uncertain Distance to Recharge (Manzie, Dewangan, Corde, Grondin, Sciarretta).

2011: Matthew Blom, received the Best Student Paper award at the 2011 Australian Combustion Symposium for Thermodynamic analysis of a steam injected and recuperated gas turbine air compressor (Blom, Wiese, Brear, Manzie, Kitchener)
2010: Chris Manzie received an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship for the period 2011-2014 inclusive.
2010: Rahul Sharma, received the 2010 SAE Young Engineer of the Year Award
2010: Graham Bennett, received a Best Student Paper Award for A Wireless Sensor Network For System Identi cation Of Sailboat Dinghies (Bennett, Manzie, Oetomo, Binns, Saunders) at the SimTect10 conference in June 2010.
2009: Chris Manzie received a Young Tall Poppy Award from the Australian Institute of Policy and Science for "Outstanding Achievements in the Area of Science".
2009: The paper Newton-Like Extremum-Seeking Part I: Theory (Moase, Manzie, Brear) received a "General Chair's Recognition Award" at the 2009 IEEE Conference on Decision and Control.
2009: Chris Manzie was a finalist (top 3) for the Australian Association for Engineering Education Teaching Award
2009: The paper Fuel economy improvements for urban driving: Hybrid vs Intelligent Vehicles (Manzie, Watson, Halgamuge) was selected to feature on IBM Smart Traffic website (

2009: Will Moase received Best Thermofluids Thesis Award and runner-up in the Chancellor's Prize.
2006: Chris Manzie was nominated for a University of Melbourne Teaching Award
2005: Chris Manzie received a Faculty of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award
2005: Chris Manzie received a highly commended paper award at the 3rd IEEE International Conference on Intelligent Sensing and Information Processing (ICISIP05) for On the potential for improving fuel economy using a traffic flow sensor network (Manzie, Watson, Halgamuge, Lim).



Current postdoctoral researchers

Dr Rohan Shekhar (since 2012) received the B.E. degree (with honours) in Mechatronic Engineering from The University of Queensland in 2006 and thePh.D. degree from the University of Cambridge in 2012. He is currently a Research Fellow at The University of Melbourne. His research interests include extremum-seeking control and robust model predictive control, with applications to automotive systems, autonomous vehicles and mining technology.


Current research students

Out research group includes students working in a number of areas related to the design and implementation of control algorithms and optimisation routines. These are an essential component of all autonomous systems.


Students working in model predictive control for vehicle powertrains and energy systems:

Gokul Sankar, Noam Olshina, Will Clarke


Students working in neuroprosthetics and precision engineering:

Kaixiang Wang, Raymond Yuan, Wences Shaw-Cortez, Ricardo Garcia Rosas


Students working in system design and aerodynamic control:

Mark Halpan, Kuan Waey Lee, Luis Ramirez


Students working in transportation systems:

Frank Liu , Yaqi Zhu




Postdoctoral alumni

Postgraduate alumni

Matthew Blom (PhD, 2017)

Changfu Zou (PhD, 2017),

Tim Broomhead (PhD, 2017)

Miguel Ramos (MPhil, 2016), Extremum seeking for Spark Advance Calibration under Tailpipe Emissions Constraints. Now at Rubicon.

Jalil Sharafi (PhD, 2016) Fast extremum seeking for online calibration of engines with variable natural gas composition. Now at Ford Australia.

Mahboobeh Medhikhani (MPhil, 2016) Musculoskeletal model for gait analysis in people with partial foot amputation. Now a PhD candidate at Victoria University of Technology.

Vincent Bachtiar (PhD, 2016), Multiobjective design of model predictive control and and its application in missile autopilot and guidance. Now working at McKinsey.

Ronny Kutadinata (PhD, 2015) Nash equilibrium seeking fro Augmentation of Urban Traffic Light Control. Now a postdoc in Infrastructure Engineering.

Ashley Wiese (PhD, 2014) Modelling and control of a Gas Turbine Air Compressor. Now at Ford Research in Detroit.

Alireza Mohammadi (PhD, 2014) Extremum seeking methods for online calibration of alternative fuelled engines. Postdoc at University of Melbourne.

Chih Feng Lee (PhD, 2013) Brake force control and judder compensation in an automotive electromechanical brake. Postdoc at Linkoping.

Denise Lam (PhD, 2012 ): A model predictive approach to optimal path-following and contouring control. Working at Toyota Technical Centre.

Jonathan Da Costa (MPhil, 2012): Integration of computational fluid dynamics and control system for a missile shaped body. Working at BAE Systems.

Michael Stephens (PhD, 2012): Model based control of machine tool servo drives. Working at ANCA Motion.

Denis Andrianov (PhD, 2011): Minimising cold start fuel consumption and emissions from gasoline fuelled engines. Working in Russia.

Terence Kim (PhD, 2011): Optimal control of a parallel hybrid electric vehicle with traffic preview. Working for Hyundai in Korea,

Will Moase (PhD 2009): Adaptive control of thermoacoustic instability. Working for BAE Systems.

Farzad Keynejad : (PhD 2009) Optimal control of SI engines during cold start. Now working at ANCA Motion.

Chris Line (PhD, 2007) : Modelling and control of a brake-by-wire actuator. Was working for Tibra Capital.

Elton Gani (MEng Sc., 2006): Intelligent computing approaches for regression and classification problems in automotive engines. Currently working at URS Transport Strategy and Operations.


Sean Brennan (Penn State 2012-3),

Sohel Anwar (Purdue 2013),

Abhi Kallapur (UNSW 2014)

Plus research masters students including Maxime Bessede (2011). One day I will insert all of these names!